The Movies of Marriage

I have realized a trend in the movies involving marriage and love. They all follow the same flow of boy meets girl, blah blah blah. But each movie has an underlining theme for marriage.

This theme is that marriage is supposed to be a state of togetherness whether it is good or bad. Which frankly is rubbish.

I know that there are really good perfect like blah blah blah marriages, but art imitates life or life imitates art, however you want to look at it.

Movies begin with true deep love, then it usually involves an affair of some kind, and then the end. The end is what differs in each movie, either the couple takes the divorce road or they take the we will try to make it work because “we are married and should just realize that life isn’t perfect road.” These depress me the most. A horrible marriage but they remain together or destroy each other so much that it’s just as bad.

When it comes to movies about marriage there is a must watch one that shows what should really happen in the end: I Give It One Year

Bonus…it’s a hysterical movie!

2 thoughts on “The Movies of Marriage

  1. Generally speaking i liked the the movie Four Weddings and a Funeral but loved especially the ending; remembering the moment when Carrie knocked on Charles’s door when it was pouring, the family picture with their new born ,…WOW!! I wished i was offered Hugh Grant’s role. Needless to say i am a long-time Andie MacDowell admirer, so this is certainly not an objective evaluation of the movie.

    For those who won’t be able to watch the movie I Give It a Year, what was the ending like?

    • My father took me to a fancy movie theater in downtown Seattle to see Four Weddings and a Funeral. I was young and didn’t get the movie. I have yet to rewatch it advanced adult. I do like Andie McDowell. SPOILER: At the end of I Give It a Year the couple happily asks for a divorce and they both hug and smile.

Leave a Reply

