Totally Cool…90’s Movies

As I continue to watch 80’s movies off my list, 90’s movies have started popping into my head. And although 90’s movies aren’t the “carefree” type of the 80’s, some were still totally cool.

Instead of starting with the best 90’s movies. I’m going to start by listing the worst 90’s movies.

#1 Four Weddings and a Funeral. My father took me to a fancy old school movie theater to see this. I remember I spent 90% of the movie counting ceiling tiles.

#2 Restoration. Now I LOVE Meg Ryan and I will watch just about any movie with her in it! Which is why my father took me to see this one. I think she was in it for all of 4 minutes. The movie, was simply, boringly awful.

#3 Sense and Sensibility. My father rented this one for me. I think I taught myself how to cross-stitch during this movie. Or started planning my suicide. Not sure which one.

Okay so, although my father is related to the three worst movies I saw in the 90’s, he actually took me to see one movie which started the acting bug inside me. (it’s not gone completely yet, but that’s another story) The movie was The Professional. I dearly wanted to play Natalie Portman’s role.

Now, there are some movies from the 90’s that weren’t too well liked by critics, but that I loved! And somehow got me into the things I love now.

  • A Far off Place (got me interesting in Africa)
  • The Client (got me interesting in the south, law, and justice)
  • Camp Nowhere (hell, this movie was just cool!)

My favorite 90’s movies that I can watch over and over and over again:

  • What About Bob
  • The Quick and the Dead
  • Twister
  • EDTv
  • Home Alone
  • Bad Boys

Now I must mention that the 90’s was when Meg Ryan put out like one or two movies a year. She was everywhere! Her best roles were in When A Man Loves A Woman and Courage Under Fire. If you think she is typecast, those two movies prove she isn’t. I can’t watch those and not cry!

The best written movies of the 90’s were:

  • Silence of the Lambs
  • 12 Monkeys
  • Scream
  • The Shawsank Redemption

If you are looking to just watch a few short minutes of a film I’d suggest Crazy People. Just for the ad-campaigns in the movie, but the movie itself sucked.

Leave a Reply

