We Won’t…But Not Because We Can’t

I was laying in bed this morning, thinking about the Saturdays I had as a child, which lead to any day I had as a child. Days when I could go outside my house, sit on the sidewalk and some kid from the neighborhood would come up and ask me to play. Or ride our bikes to Thrifty’s to get a double scoop ice cream cone. Back when pop cans in your bike wheels and slip-n-slides were popular.

Back when “don’t talk to strangers” really meant “don’t talk to someone who is not in you neighborhood or the next 5 neighborhoods, but that looks creepy and lonely and might be carrying candy.”

About once a month my father would take me for a half day at the airport. We would go and watch the planes land and take off, ride the little monorail that went around the airport, then have some lunch and go home. Simple, cheap entertainment that only required you passed through a metal detector. (Of course you can no longer do this).

What do we do now with our kids over the weekends? Sports games, sports games, sports games, TV, TV, TV. Some are stuck trying to entertain their kids while others are so busy shuttling them around that they don’t even know when the weekend starts and ends.

I reside in a 1979. Which means it’s in an older, developed neighborhood, one without playgrounds for the kids on every street. I assume there are kids that live on my street, although I wouldn’t know. They are not outside with sidewalk chalk or riding their bikes. Well my reasoning is two things: 1st how do kids know there are other kids in the neighborhood if they all play in their backyard? Back when I was a kid we all went to the same school and we all played out front. Now one kid goes to public school, one to private, one to charter, and one is home-schooled. 2nd People should really not be driving 45 miles down a neighborhood street. You are more than welcome to drive 120 on the freeway, but you best drive less than 25 in a neighborhood!

Anyway, I’m getting off track. So our new neighborhood is quiet different from our old neighborhood. It has that cozy-friendly feeling. The house has a lot of charm, regardless of all the current chaos. Frankly it reminds me of my childhood, my life in California and my trips to Minnesota. Which is what brings me back to the heading of this blog post.

We can be more friendly, more helpful, more connected to others in our neighborhood and in general. We can spend more time outside and (yes I know blogging is apart of technology) less time sitting in front of the computer/TV. It does all have a “trickle down effect” on others. In this neighborhood it should be easier to be…how it used to be…although probably not.

But hey, maybe I’ll meet some of my neighbors when their kids come around in March for Girl Scout Cookie sales.

Leave a Reply

