3 Books I Turn to for Writing Assistance

As a writer, I think it might be mandatory to have your thoughts all over the place. Always thinking and looking for new themes, plots, and characters. Because of this I often find myself struggling to remember key elements in writing. When I’m writing I focus on the story, not the structure. Yet it’s always good to have a bit of a refresher course on the basics. I have three go to books on my bookcase. I turn to these books to assist in strengthening the weak parts in my story, to refresh myself with the writing rules, and gather inspiration.

The three books I find the most useful are: The Writer’s Guide to Crafting Stories for Children by Nancy Lamb; From Inspiration to Publication, Editors Pamela Glass Kelly and Mary Spelman; Writing Picture Books by Ann Whitford Paul.

In The Writer’s Guide to Crafting Stories for Children (2001) each chapter goes into extensive detail and numerous examples to assist the writer in examining their current work in progress. The warning boxes in nearly every chapter highlight key components for writers to remember. Chapter 14, Point of View, provides the most in-depth information on point of views I have come across in any book.

I refer to From Inspiration to Publication (2002) when I need to feel positive about the final touches of my manuscript. This book is a perfect quick reference guide and gives writers the inspiration they need to make sure their story is correctly organized and structured from first page to submission and then some.

What I love best about Writing Picture Books (2009) is all the questions which arise about your story in nearly each paragraph. The advice flows nicely from page to page like a cozy inviting breeze. It brings out the critical thinker in a way which does not make the writer feel like their story is wrong, but how to improve it to make it the best. While Writing Picture Books focuses solely on picture books, while the other two books, a writer can pull bits and pieces to support any story.

Despite these books’ publication dates they remain vital for writing. Understanding the craft, and having the proper direction in which to navigate will enhance every story. The idea, the spark comes from you, but the strength of good writing comes from knowledge and practice.

6 Comments Add yours

  1. mirkabreen says:

    I really think Nancy Lamb’s book is top of the heap- simple and straight forward and a must for beginners. I don’t often see it mentioned, (unlike the other two excellent books you noted) so I’m very glad you did.

    1. I love all three for different reasons! 🙂

  2. Wendy Watson says:

    Very glad to read of these three books that you find so helpful—I had already reserved one of them from the library, will look up the other two!

  3. I love the Lamb and Paul books, but I’ve never heard of the Inspiration one. Thanks for the rec! It sounds like a must-read.

  4. Thanks for visiting! 🙂

  5. rhonda says:

    May have to revisit Lamb’s book after reading this post. Thanks for reminding us of all these great resources.

Leave a Reply

