Rules For Stick Shift Drivers

stick

  • Nothing is YOUR fault when you have to change lanes and shift, you can’t be expected to pay attention too.
  • Getting really close to someone who just taps their brakes is okay because once you shift down you have to shift right back up, so it saves you the trouble of having to do so.
  • Only stick shift drivers can complain about traffic.
  • The reason that Alzheimer’s is on the rise (supposedly the longer you are keeping your brain active the less likely you are to keep it at bay) because the elderly aren’t driving stick shifts anymore, and haven’t for many years.
  • The only food or drink product you can consume is an apple, and only if you can manage to shift with it, unless you are crazy and attempt to consume other foods or drinks.
  • When in traffic a new gear is created called motion sickness, because traffic always manages to find speeds between 1, 2, and 3rd gear.
  • You shouldn’t text and drive, but you literally can’t text and shift. (Nor can you hold a phone and shift).
9 Comments Add yours

  1. linnea says:

    I used to have a Volkswagon Beetle. They only came in a stick shift. One of my biggest challenges was having to stop on a hill. Getting started again required coordination between the brakes, gas and clutch or else you’d roll back into the car behind you. Now I don’t have three feet so couldn’t operate all three at once. My solution was the hand brake and I got real good at letting it off at just the right time to let out the clutch and step on the gas. Man I’m glad I have an automatic now.

    1. Thankfully Linnea I have very few if any real hills were I live but it does prevent me from traveling to places that have them. (So I don’t actually know how to do the hand brake trick like you.) I’ve been driving stick for about a year and a half and I really am not “ment” to have the smooth coordination needed. I do well enough to get from point A and B. I am looking forward to when I can get an automatic again!!!

  2. timanda says:

    I’ve never had the opportunity to learn to drive manual. It looks fun, though, unless you’re stuck in stop and go traffic.

    1. Unless you are in another sequel to the Fast and Furious movie…NOT fun 😉

  3. helenrj says:

    I learned to drive on a stick shift. I had several cars that were standard before I made the shift to automatic. I loved the control of it. I miss it.

    1. Funny helenrj, I feel like I have less control over a stick than I ever did in any automatic car.

  4. “Nor can you hold a phone and shift.”—Sure you can. Just steer with your knee.

    Le sigh…. I miss my stick shift.

    1. I have a hard enough time steering and shifting, my knee would just confuse it lol. I guarantee I will not miss the stick shift when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

