Jumping on the Banned Books Wagon…

blog 002There have been nothing but posts from writer friends about banned book week, so I figured I would chat a little about some of the books from the list.

My favorite from the list is : Fahrenheit 451, Ray Bradbury, 1953

Watched the movie (not the book) found the movie to be a bore: Gone With the Wind, Margaret Mitchell, 1936

Attempted to read it twice but didn’t make it past chapter 2 either times: The Great Gatsby, F. Scott Fitzgerald, 1925

Read bits and piece of it in school and loved it: The Scarlet Letter, Nathaniel Hawthorne, 1850

I think I slept through most of the book and the movie: To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee, 1960

This has been on my to read list for years: Uncle Tom’s Cabin, Harriet Beecher Stowe, 1852

One of the scariest children’s books I have ever read and hated having to read it to kids as a nanny: Where the Wild Things Are, Maurice Sendak, 1963

 

15 Comments Add yours

  1. helenrj says:

    Uggh…The Great Gatsby. Where the Wild Things Are is a book that scared my kids (and the movie was frightening).

    1. I am glad I never watched the movie.

      1. helenrj says:

        It was an odd film by Spike Lee…I remember my daughters turning to me and saying, “Mom, this is not a kid’s film.”

      2. Oh Spike Lee, yes he does not make kids movies…or at least he shouldn’t! LOL

  2. I liked 451. I struggled through The Great Gatsby. I had to read it in school years ago, and I had no idea what was going on; the movie cleared everything up for me.

    1. I have yet to see the newest movie, but I might watch it just to finally figure it out.

  3. rhchatlien says:

    The trick to reading Gatsby is to realize you won’t like the characters. Any of them. If you read it (and I’m not saying you should), read it for the gorgeous language and the insight into the “American dream.” I decided to avoid the whole banned book week thing on my blog.

    1. LOL, well I might try to read it again in 50 years when I’m old and pissed at the world.

  4. mirkabreen says:

    Oh, dear. I loved most of these. Especially To Kill a Mockingbird. (book & movie, both)
    I personally love Where the Wild Things Are, but encountered it first as a grownup when my kids were little. They both confessed later that despite my re-reading the book to them they never cared for it, and much preferred The Bernstein Bears and such. I’ve been wondering if the Sendak book (any of his books, really) isn’t a PB book for adults.

    1. I loved The Bernstein Bears. It’s nice to know that I’m not alone in the feelings of Where the Wild Things Are because I was always told by others they loved it.

  5. Leandra says:

    I bought Uncle Tom’s Cabin last year on my Nook. I’ve been meaning to read it as my wip deals w/slavery. I really need to get on it! Thx for the reminder. =)

    1. That is also why I put Uncle Tom’s Cabin on my list, because of a WIP I had 🙂

  6. I hated Gatsby in high school. I love it as a thirty-year-old. Hmm. Maybe because I did a lot of partying in my 20s haha?? I felt like I’d been to Gatsby’s parties. I’d met the despicable people. I now know about lost love and past regret. I’d give it another try. It is now one of my favorite books ever. (The new movie: uggggg. Watch it for the costumes, but it’s kind of a mind trip.)

    1. As a ZERO party girl maybe this is an indicator of why I don’t like the book…all though I’ve lost a lot of love.

      1. Read it again. Just do it 🙂

Leave a Reply

