Stephen King Does It…

cheeseHe (Stephen King) eats a piece of cheesecake before he sits down to write.

Do you have any rituals before you sit down to write?

Exercise? Nap? Turn on music?

I usually play with my dogs before I write. This tires them out so that they will rest and I can focus on writing.

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Daniel says:

    Not really a ritual, but it takes about an hour for my writing state of mind to warm up. I listen to soundtracks to help it get there.

    1. I find that some of the stories I write do take me a while to focus in on too Daniel. Do you have different soundtracks you listen to depending on the type of story you are writing?

      1. Daniel says:

        Absolutely. I only listen to soundtracks when I writing, though. It makes the story feel “professional.”

      2. I think that music can really bring out the underlining meaning of a story. I wrote two very deep stories listening to an Eminem album.

  2. krystal jane says:

    I get on the writing boards and procrastinate a little. A lot of times, I edit a little bit before I start. It puts me in the crafting mood. ^_^

    1. Writing boards can be VERY distracting Krystal 😉

    1. I miss drinking coffee and writing Diane, used to be a great staple.

  3. Linnea says:

    Make myself a pot of coffee. But then I get up at 4:30 am.

    1. I try not to get up until my alarm or dogs get me up Linnea. I’m grateful it’s not at 4:30am though.

  4. mirkabreen says:

    I think I should adopt Stephen King’s ritual. I adore cheesecake.
    Oops, but I’m lactose-intolerant…

    I do begin a writing day with a strong cup of coffee, replete with plenty of steamed soy-milk.

    1. Has their been a good lactose free recipe created yet?

  5. For a prolific writer, that’s a lot of cheesecake! 🙂 I probably should come up with a ritual, something that will keep me more disciplined.

    1. I was just thinking that Marcia…a LOT of cheesecake! I am rather big ritual/structure person so I know I benefit from it.

Leave a Reply

