Unavoidable Mother’s Day

Karin_0002Every year I try desperately to avoid Mother’s Day. I don’t pay attention to commercials or ads in papers. For some reason it gets more challenging to avoid each year. Maybe because more friends are dog people and  include me in their Mother’s Day text overload. Which I actually really like and I’m grateful. But the reason I have always tried to avoid Mother’s Day, and still do, is not because I’m not a mom to actual human kids. It is because I haven’t been able to celebrate Mother’s Day since I was 15 yrs old. While I did have a mother-in-law for a few short years before she passed and I have a step-mom, it is not the same.

Back when I was a child I was fully aware that I needed to let my mom know she was important, not just on Mother’s Day, but everyday. I look back on my childhood and was saddened over not being able to go overboard on Mother’s Day because  I was not capable to the full extent to celebrate Mother’s Day at such a young age the way one can as an adult. That, I believe, is the real reason for avoiding Mother’s Day each year. My lack of not being able to because it’s not even an option.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Kim says:

    I understand your perspective now that I have lost my mom too but, going forward, let’s choose to celebrate the awesome mothers we were fortunate to have had in our lives!

    1. Very good point Kim 🙂

  2. Patrick says:

    First off I would like to say excellent blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was curious to find out how you center yourself and clear your head prior to writing. I’ve had a hard time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out there. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are usually wasted just trying to figure out how to begin. Any recommendations or hints? Thanks!|

Leave a Reply

