When Do Writers Read?

I started reading Sycamore Row by John Grisham in March. I’m still only 1/2 way done. (And it’s a good book!). My writer friends are always posting about books they are reading, and I am thinking when do you have time to read?!?

I do make attempts to read but they always go south.

  • If I sit down to read 88% of the time I fall asleep within the first 3 pages, even with the best books.
  • If I am reading my mind wanders to my TO DO LIST.
  • If I am reading I think about each sentence and scene and what I like or don’t like about it as a writer, reading each paragraph until I give up in actually moving to the next page.
  • If I sit down to read I notice my hands and that they
  • A. need new nail polish
  • B. need lotion
  • C. need cuticle care
  • D. notice more freckles which leads to thinking about aging and before I know it I’ve read to 2 pages but didn’t comprehend any of it.

So, when do you find time to read?

 

10 Comments Add yours

  1. helenrj says:

    I scatter it throughout the day…saving the fiction for when I have bigger blocks of time. I love to read before sleeping, but if it is a good read, I tend to push it past midnight until my eyes are gritty. I do need my sleep. If mama don’t get sleep, honey, she is crabby!

    1. Helen, I find that if a book is scary I can’t fall asleep reading it and I have to flip the book over so the cover isn’t facing up :/

      1. helenrj says:

        So true! I can not read scary stuff before bed…my dream world goes into overdrive! And the scariest book recently…This Is Not a Test..a YA zombie book. Could not get past the first chapter.

      2. A zombie book sounds like a huge no-no once the sun sets!

  2. I’ve started setting aside specific time to read each day (an hour before bedtime, for example) because otherwise it just won’t happen. I also find myself analyzing the craft in everything I read which can be helpful but exhausting! So if I’m only seeing the flaws in a book, I let myself give up on it after a few chapters and move on to something else. 🙂

    1. Anna, I think you make a good point about moving on after a few chapters if you don’t like it.

  3. I have a really hard time committing to a full length novel. I’ll maybe read a handful of novels a year. I’m super picky, but I keep trying. When I do find a good read, I have it done in a few days. But I’m reading my own work, reading and critiquing others too, and to top it off, I squeeze in reading novels. But again, if I lose interest the book closes up there. Even if I’m on page 150 of a 200 page book. It has to hold me all the way through.

    1. Thanks for your comment Lisa, I have stopped reading books in all different locations. I have been finding more and more books just don’t hold my attention.

  4. mirkabreen says:

    Finding the time to read, for me, involved getting away from electronic media. Something I should do after leaving this comment…

    1. I think it’s hard to get all the needed social media time in that we writers need now-a-days! Hopefully you won’t see this until later, since you should be away from media 😉

Leave a Reply

