Appreciation Monday – Pfaumenkuchen – Part 2

20140825_191811I am appreciative for handed down family desserts! I used to stand in my Grandma’s kitchen in Minnesota and watch her make pfaumenkuchen, she refereed to no recipe card. I then watched my father make it, again no recipe card. Last year at this time I went from hand punching dough onto a cookie sheet to a pie crust. This year I reworked it again by changing the pie crust to a wheat pie crust. Today I share the recipe with my visitors, enjoy.

Pfaumenkuchen – (German fruit dessert)

12-15 Italian plumes/prunes (available in the last weeks of August, first weeks of September only)20140825_182639

1 wheat pie crust

1 cup flour

1 cup sugar

1 cup brown sugar

1 tablespoon cinnamon

6 tablespoons butter (I use 4 tablespoons of butter and/or coconut oil chilled)20140825_172743

****If you have a favor crumble topping you can use that recipe instead.

Slice the plums in half, remove pit, layer on the bottom of the pie crust. Once layered, cut additional plums into half then quarter. Make sure to cover a good portion of the crust.

This is how they should look when you cut them open. Slightly firm and green.
This is how they should look when you cut them open. Slightly firm and green.

Mix the flour, sugars, cinnamon, and butter. The butter will help it brown during cooking and helps crumble stick together slightly.

Bake at 350 degrees until juices bubble, usually about 30-45 mins depending on your oven.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. jdewdropsofink says:

    Yum. It’s always nice when fun traditions continue to get passed down.

  2. Lisa Reier says:

    It really looks wonderful. My family loves fruit pies. I plan on trying this.

Leave a Reply

