Writing Self Discoveries

This year I attended the annual AZ SCBWI Welcome to Our House conference. (As I mentioned in my Appreciation Monday post). I didn’t leave there feeling peppy. I didn’t leave there feeling motivated either. As days passed since the conference, and with some feedback from different levels it made me think more in-depth about my writing. With some self-realization and poking I discovered that I have a great deal to learn about my craft. That…and this might be the most important…when I start to struggle on a story I start a new one. I have a large file of half started stories and stories that need full attention that I have not, and can’t give them at this time. All of these things ultimately play into writer self-doubt.

Writing is not like “Funny Farm.” Well it’s not like the wife’s version (get an idea, write a story, sell it, get it published)…it’s more like the husband’s version (sit, think, think, think, throw hot coffee on the chirping bird, throw the manuscript in the roaring fire).

For me, focusing on only one story proves a challenge for me, and when I switch to a new story it allows me to bypass the last story’s glaring flaws. Learning to work on this “processing error” and change it will help me hone my craft and hopefully provide a grand story, not to mention a complete one too.

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Wendy Watson says:

    So interesting—I’ve had to grapple with the same unhelpful habit.

    1. It is an unhelpful habit indeed Wendy 🙂

  2. I can relate, Savannah. I try to take heart that those half-written stories will someday become whole in their own rights or is that writes? I must believe they will. 🙂

    1. Half-written stories can ultimately be very powerful I think Lynn. (I think it’s rights). Maybe even struggling for an end could lead to a combination of half-finished stories into a whole one.

      1. Yes, I know it’s ‘rights.’ I was just trying to make a pun. Beware the Pun Queen. lol

  3. mirkabreen says:

    I made a deal with myself not to allow me ( 😉 ) to start something until I had at least completed the first draft and first revision of the last project. It was a way to conquer the business of unfinished business, and it works. Good luck with finding your way.

    1. That is a great idea Mirka. My issue is I get these ideas and when I just put down notes and don’t start the story right away it loses it’s “inspiration.” Of course that could just be what I am telling myself 😉

  4. Vijaya says:

    Perhaps if you start writing short stories, you will find it easier to finish them. It’s not uncommon to have a brilliant idea in the middle of another story that’s not writing itself smoothly. I have loads of unfinished stories … but I also make myself finish a few. And there’s nothing better than typing The End (for a short or long story). You can always go back and fix it later.

    1. Hi Vjaya,
      I actually do write a lot of short stories and find those, because of the tight word count are more challenging to finish than large manuscripts. Typing THE END is such a great feeling indeed. I need to work on pushing myself to finish more stories before I fully start carving out new ones. Thanks so much for your comment.

Leave a Reply

