Appreciation Monday

Since my last two posts were about the SCBWI conference I figured I would conclude the conference posts with this Appreciation Monday post.

I am not one to chit-chat and put myself out there to meet people. I am an introvert and love who I am. But I know it is important to connect without others, especially as a writer, as we need a lot of support from others in our challenging field.

I don’t go around shaking hands with everyone and other ways of mass connection. I like to connect with one or two people, max. (I sat next to an agent during the entire conference and didn’t even say HI!) I’ve been lucky enough to meet and grow friendships this way in the past with several wonderful creative women.

This year, at the SCBWI conference I connected with a lovely lady named Lynn. Since the conference we have remained in contact through social media. This is what matters to me over twenty hand shakes and nothing remembered.

I am appreciative for networking and ultimately making connections and future friendships with other writers and artists.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jdewdropsofink says:

    You’re not alone. I think a lot of writers are introverts. That’s why we write. 🙂 Sounds like a lovely experience.

  2. I feel fortunate to have met you, Savannah, and am glad to be one of the people you connected with. I thought you were gracious and wouldn’t have thought of you as an introvert. I too can be shy, but this year I decided to step forward and was blessed to have connected with you. It is so true that writers need each other for support. The nice thing is we don’t need a multitude to sustain us. A handful of writer friends who are close can be far more helpful than a crowd. I hope we will grow our connection into a lasting friendship. (Sorry for the overspill!)

Leave a Reply

