Mini Layered Cakes

20150102_182454I recently stumbled upon a great way to make a mini layered cake for two. (This is perfect for Valentine’s Day)20150101_171724-1

I used disposable foil tins and regular cake box mix. Once I buttered and floured the tins I poured the cake batter in about 1/4 of the way. I then baked them (they bake fast) for about fifteen minutes at 325. (Inserting a toothpick to check if they were baked all the way through).20150101_175806-1

I allowed them to cool and then removed them. I frosted and stacked the cakes as you would any layer cake. The results were great and made for a fun way to share a layered cake without making a larger cake. I used the rest of the cake batter to make cupcakes.

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. jdewdropsofink says:

    What a great idea. These would be perfect valentines treats. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Sounds and looks good! Let us know how it tastes.

    1. Thanks Lynn, it was very yummy. I did switch out veg. oil for sour cream though.

Leave a Reply

