Sweet Cakes ~ Homemade Dog Treats

Since my “kids” loved the Peanut Butter Rounds I made, I figured I would create another treat for them. This one is just as simple as the last one.

20150226_124348Sweet Cakes

  • 1.5 cups oatmeal
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 cup peanut butter
  • 1 sweet potato (shredded with carrot peeler)

Pre-heat oven to 325

Combine ingredients in pot over low heat, mixing until well mixed then stir over low heat for 5 mins

(I placed foil on my cookie sheet but you can use any non-stick pan you like)

Remove pot from heat and let sit for 10 mins to cool20150226_115508

Take 1 heaping tablespoon of the sweet cake and roll into a ball, then flatten in your hand. Place on cookie sheet.

Bake in oven for 25 mins, remove, flip sweet cakes over, and place back in oven for 10 mins.

Remove, let cool

I store mine in the freezer to keep fresh and thaw as needed.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. jdewdropsofink says:

    Your dog treats sound good to me too. Maybe I’m part canine–oh oh, I’d better watch out for those full moons. 🙂

    1. Haha! Well it just means they are healthy!

  2. Totally healthy for dogs and people! Looks like your pup can’t wait to crunch into it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

