BLOODLINE – Why You Should Watch

bloodline(This post contains NO spoilers)

Netflix released Bloodline,  March 20th, for the ever growing binge watching crowd. The story plays out over thirteen episodes. What I should say is it p l a y s o u t. That’s right, it drags at the start several more episodes than are needed, it could have started at episode 3 or 4 and viewers would be fine. Yet, even with this, one is drawn to keep watching. It is not the because of its average writing, and most certainly not the jumbled storyline that bounces between flashbacks, flash forwards and current time. It is actor Ben Mendelsohn’s character Danny. Danny is the main reason for the entire storyline. Mendelsohn’s ability to act out a multilayer character is the main reason to watch. Mendelsohn’s ability to draw the audience in, push us away and yet make us want to sneak around behind trees to see what he is hiding. (The acting of Norbert Leo Butz’s character Kevin is noteworthy too).

Writers: be aware of the issues caused by a drawn out plot and the positives of character development through multilayers.

Viewers: enjoy a story about family that is superbly underlined with emotion and pain.

8 comments

  1. I haven’t heard of this. We won’t have access to it anyway, but it is hard watching something now without analyzing the script. There’s a movie that everyone seems to love but it drives me crazy because I think the script is lame and trite.

    • I find that to be true for many shows and movies now. I also push myself to ask why something is not working and why something is when I watch shows to hopefully help me learn more about writing stories.

  2. I’ll have to search for it on Netflix. I like to dissect movies, too. If a movie is lame, I like to think about the why…not enough backstory? Silly ‘coincidence’ solves the MC prob? Characters do not have strong motivations for actions? etc.

  3. I only watched because Ben Mendelsohn is my favourite actor and my goodness as usual I was not disappointed – he is absolutely brilliant.

Leave a Reply

