Why I Didn’t Make Resolutions for 2016

This year was a the first time in many years that I didn’t make any resolutions for 2016.  Don’t we all make them and by February hate ourselves for not really following them? Beating ourselves up for something that we would not do had we not made a resolution of things to change.

This year I decided to go with a TO DO LIST for 2016.

A TO DO LIST represents things that I want to complete this year. It represents a “less harsh” idea to remind and encourage me what is important, without the stigma of failure. A lot of us make TO DO LIST for the weekend chores and we do not tell ourselves we have failed if we don’t complete it. More or less we just add it to the TO DO LIST for next week. It’s less pressure in my mind and thus a feel good thing. Also a TO DO LIST is a reminder, a suggestion on what needs to happen this year. I like the idea of a suggestion, because we all know life does not go the direction we want every time.

My main focus this year will be finalizing several stories that I have been putting off in favor of creating new stories. Editing will become the theme of my 2016. I hope that I not only shape my stories into the best they can be, but also sharpen my editing skills. When it comes to writing increasing your skill set is the most valuable thing you can do for your career path.

Happy 2016 ALL!

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I also did not make any 2016 resolutions, mainly because I’m still working on the ones from 2015. Wishing you the best with your TO DO LIST and editing your existing stories!

  2. jdewdropsofink says:

    I like this idea much better. Good luck.

Leave a Reply

