Maxi’s Secrets (or what you can learn from a dog) – book review

Image result for maxi's secretMaxi’s Secrets by Lynn Plourde

This middle grade book is about the relationship between Timminy, his dog Maxi and his neighbor Abby. While it was an enjoyable story, I felt it lacked the arc needed to make the story really sizzle. For me, the side character, of Rory felt unimportant, when it really could have been a much larger part of the story. As the friendship with Timminy and Abby was lackluster. Also, I am not sure that the secrets belong to Maxi, but to Timminy, which I found a little confusing.

The reader is told in the second sentence that Maxi dies, which kept me reading to find out why, but sadly had that not been in the opening I might not have made it very far into the book. Maxi’s Secrets was well written with excellent descriptions of Timminy and Maxi, yet I didn’t feel connected with the characters emotionally as I should.

Middle graders can relate to the story of Timminy, but Abby as well. I just wish that Rory had played a bigger role as there seemed to be an underlining story in which middle graders would like to know more about.

3 out of 5 stars.

2 Comments Add yours

  1. jdewdropsofink says:

    Interesting. I don’t like stories where animals die, so I’d probably not get very far into the book. Where the Red Fern Grows made me blubber for hours.

    1. Yes, it is a rather harsh upfront let down, even if it happens at the end.

Leave a Reply

