A World of Fake Images

First, let me say that I understand body shaming is happening to both men and women. I am well aware that there are airbrushed magazines with shirtless guys on the cover. However, I am a woman and I can only view it from a woman’s perspective.

My friend recently sent me an airbrushed photo of a selfie I took a week ago. She uses this app, or whatever it is on her photos, and did the same to my photo (saying I looked more beautiful with the airbrushing). My reaction….OMG I LOOK…HORRIBLE. I didn’t like the airbrushed me at all. Why was I thinking this way? The one thing I would change most of all (my freckles) had disappeared! So why was a I still hating this image of myself? I looked, impossible. That’s right, impossible. How could someone look impossible? Well airbrushing makes the impossible, possible. Yet for me, I didn’t like how I looked, I looked like I had Barbie’s skin!!! Don’t get me wrong Barbie rocks it, but we know she is fake and the impossible to obtain.

I did some on research on my own phone, there are settings on it that actually make your face thinner!! There are settings that make things change on your face/body/skin before you even take the picture! What have we become as a society? I remember back when Faith Hill graced the cover of Redbook and the media went crazy over the airbrushed and regular photo taken for the cover shoot because the airbrushing backlash was at a high point in society bashing at the time.

Image result for redbook faith hill airbrushing
Regular/Airbrushed

Here is my regular photo taken outside without a filter and my friend’s airbrush app version. (yes, I’m aware, I’m wearing a Faith Hill shirt haha)

im
Regular
img9
Airbrushed

I got to thinking about magazines and the airbrushing of famous people and how much it has changed who we are and what young girls strive to be. What even adult women think they need to be. For anyone to think that the airbrushed picture is the “okay” one, the better representation to share, goes far beyond wanting to be perfect. It is about self-worth. We all have our thoughts about what we like and don’t like about our bodies. We all have flaws we want to get rid of instantly. Yet, the fact that this can be accomplished with an app or setting on a phone represents human weakness, in my mind. I am fine with saying a picture is at a bad angle, or you had a bad hair day, or the jumbo zit on your nose is VERY noticeable. But, that is what is human about us. What lets people know that we are not Barbie, and can never be Barbie. And by using these settings and apps we are saying YOU ARE NOT GOOD ENOUGH. Is that what we want to be about? That we are okay, but better with some airbrushing?

7 comments

  1. Insightful post indeed, Savannah. I must say I prefer the regular photos over the airbrushed. You and Faith are beautiful just as God created you! As a photographer, I may Photoshop shadows off people’s faces, but never change the shape of their face, body, or appearance. I’m glad you’re aware how wonderful you look naturally. 🙂

Leave a Reply

