Nowhere Out ~ POEM

by Savannah Hendricks

 

His tears fell with the rhythm of the rain

            Streaming down the diminutive window

Her captivation with a creased photo of a retriever

            Held firmly between unkept fingertips

He glared at grimy walls

            Whispering names from his lips

Locks and alarms

            Bars and codes

Time existing through television

            Memories and nightmares

They filled paper cups

            Water to help the colors slide down throats

Her fingers tapped

            A code in her mind

            Nowhere out it screamed

            Nowhere out

8 Comments Add yours

  1. I didn’t know you wrote poetry! This is lovely.

    1. Thank you! I do it for fun when I need a break from my 30k manuscripts haha.

      1. I hear you! When I need a break from writing articles and blogging, I like graphic design, painting, and other forms of art.

      2. I love to get crafty too.

  2. jdewdropsofink says:

    Sounds like a cool intro to a thriller or mystery.

  3. It’s beautiful! Reminds me of dark neo gothic symbolism… Like Edgar Allen Poe in the Matrix-era… And to me it speaks: Me and my soul understanding the true meaning of existence… At least for now… Keep on writing! You’re doin’ it great!

    1. Thank you so much for your comment Dimitar!!

  4. Haunting and literary.

Leave a Reply

