Writing Stew

As I made my first vegan stew the other night (it turned out excellent, after some fixes), I realized how much writing is like cooking.

Take for example my vegan stew. I took what I knew it needed, then kind of experimented the rest of the way through.

As with writing you might have the basics, but need to let it simmer for a while. Let the story soak in what else might be needed. You read through it and realize you need more of this, that and those.

With the stew I took the first bite and went back to adding more spices. It took a while, but after ten minutes I finally got the stew I wanted.

Just as with your story, sometimes you just need to let it simmer, taste it, then figure out what you need to make it work.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. Nice analogy. And the stew looks delish.

    1. Thank you! And yes the stew was delicious.

  2. Yum on the stew. Yum on writing. I hope to do more writing and vegan dishes in the near future. 🙂

Leave a Reply

