Library Haul for May – Children’s Books

91xbFG3IYHLBrunhilda’s Backwards Day by Shawna J.C. Tenney – 2016 – I rather enjoyed this fresh story about a witch. The illustrations are beautiful and the story has a message, but subtle.

Black Dog by Levi Pinfold – 2011 – Reading this book took me someplace else, far away from my couch in Phoenix. The illustrations are classic and slightly different then the fluffy artwork we see in many newer picture books. The story read fresh and new, yet an old classic. I simply loved this book!

The Legend of Rock Paper Scissors by Drew Daywalt – 2017 – First off this book was a blast to read!!! Second, I felt maybe it was written for adults to enjoy over children. I say this because it seems a little aggressive for a picture book. Now, the story was well written and engaging, what a awesome way to get from beginning to end. I recommend this book for adults and older picture book readers.

Yoga Bunny by Brian Russo – 2017 – I would call this a quiet picture book. The story focuses on well-known yoga poses and mixes it with  curious animals, which take a while to warm up to the idea of what Bunny is doing.

Wombat Walkabout by Carol Diggory Shields with illustrations by Sophie Blackall – 2009 – This is a fun story mixing non-fiction with fiction. The rhyming felt off in places, which caused me to not  get fully into the story. Loved some of the words, but overall it felt done before, as so many counting books do.

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Looks like a good haul. Anything by Adam Rex is great! Did you know he lives here in Tucson? Yep. I’m interested in reading Black Dog at your recommendation and because I have a Black German Shepherd. lol

Leave a Reply

